An Extraordinary Customer Experience

Extraordinary customer experiences aren’t as grandiose as we often make them seem. They are often small, personal, and meaningful interactions that focus on delivering “value” as defined by the customer in front of us.

BMW’s have a notorious reputation. The brand exemplifies class and after driving one you really do start to get a sense of why they’re dubbed the ultimate driving machine.

I recently had a not so positive experience with my BMW. While conducting a routine oil service my service advisor discovered that the starter motor had lived out its last days. What followed was an unexpected cost of driving a BMW or my startling cost of doing business! I was out of commission not only was the repair expensive but due to share volume of cars being service wasn’t part of my routine oil service appointment.

Now there are two ways this could have gone. One I could have blown a gasket, pardon the pun or two my service advisor could have helped ease the blow of all that was happening around me. Here’s what made the difference:

  • My service advisor right away arranged for a shuttle to get me back to work. Minimizing my downtime. He offered to arrange for a rental vehicle which I declined because I happened to be traveling for work the next day.
  • He constantly left me voicemails updating me on the status of the vehicle.
  • The price he originally quoted me ended up being lower than he thought due to some changes in OEM parts. Psychologically I was prepared to pay the amount quoted and saving a few hundred dollars right before I signed the line, gave me a strange sense of satisfaction almost forgetting everything that brought me to this stage.
  • Right after my “washed” shiny car arrived for pick up the service advisor walked away from his desk and team. He approached me and started a conversation similar to how a friend would talk to another. He advised me of a quality survey that would be emailed to me by head office, BMW Canada asking how I found my experience. He went on to say that meeting your expectations isn’t enough for us here or me. I want to ensure you had an extraordinary experience. Were we able to exceed your expectations? Wow! My jaw dropped and I am seldom speechless responded with “you certainly did, John. Taking a not so ideal situation and making the best of it all while keeping me informed and minimizing my costs – that’s value to me”.

All of these basic steps were accomplished and effective because they were a natural part of John’s role as a service advisor – it was truly second nature for him.

Leave a Reply

